Credit Licensing



Every state has different requirements when it comes to licensing and CEC requirements. Use this list to learn more about your state's requirements.

States that do not allow online learning

The following states do not allow CE credits to be earned online for state renewal purposes:
New Jersey, Kentucky, South Carolina, North Carolina, Arkansas, and Connecticut.

For questions regarding earning continuing education in these states please check with your state licensing board.

 


Alabama

After 2 years of practice, optician must pay a simple license tax which coincides with a city or town business license.

Alaska

Exam: ABO & NCLE
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Mandatory Continuing Education: 10 hours

State of Alaska
Department of Commerce, Community, & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811
(907) 465-5470
http://www.commerce.alaska.gov/occ

Arizona

Exam: ABO & NCLE and state practical exam
License Renewal Period: Annual
Mandatory Continuing Education: 12 hours over 3 years; at least 4 hours in spectacles,
3 hours in CL, 1 hour in state or national opticianry standards

Arizona State Board of Dispensing Opticians
1400 W. Washington Ave, Room 230
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-542-3095
http://www.do.az.gov

Arkansas

Continuing education online: No online credits are allowed for state license renewal purposes.
Exam: State Exam
License Renewal Period: Every 2 years
Mandatory Continuing Education: 9 hours every 2 years

Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians
PO Box 627
Helena, AR 72342
870-572-2847
http://www.abdo.arkansas.gov

California

Exam: ABO & NCLE
License Renewal Period: Every 2 years
Mandatory Continuing Education: 12 hours every three years if ABO, 18 hours every three years if NCLE and 21 hours every three years if ABO & NCLE

California State Board of Optometry
Department of Consumer Affairs
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105
Sacramento, CA 95834
(916) 575-7170

Colorado

No state board or licensing requirements

Connecticut

Continuing education online: No online credits are allowed for state license renewal purposes.
Exam: ABO & NCLE, and State Practical Exam
License Renewal Period: Annual
Mandatory Continuing Education: 7 hours Connecticut Department of Health
Optician Licensure
410 Capital Ave, MS #12APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134
860-509-7603
http://www.ct.gov/dph

Delaware

No state board or licensing requirements

Florida

The following courses on our website are also Florida State approved. Each course is approved for 2 home study credits.

Florida Approved Spectacle Credits
• This Used to be a Closet: In-house labs
• CVS Sources and Solutions
• Diabetes and the Eye
• Everything Old Is New Again - Lens Treatments
• What Blue Can Do: Harm or Help?
• What opticians need to know about ophthalmology

Florida Approved Contact Lens Credits
• Anatomical Structures and Soft Contact Lenses
• Orthokeratology and Myopia Control
• Soft Contact Lenses: Best Practices
• When to Say No to Contact Lenses
• Astigmatism and Contact Lenses
• Contact Lenses for Children
• The Signs Point to a Change
• Soft Contact Lens Care & Patient Education

Florida CE Requirements.
Exam: ABO & NCLE and State Exam
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 20 hours every 2 years: 11 technical hours (if board certified, 4 of 11 hours must be contact lens); 2 hours on Federal or Florida Laws & Rules; 2 hours on Medical Errors; and 5 hours of electives (may choose from: technical, laws and rules, HIV/AIDS, and practice management). For first renewal only: 1 elective hour must be HIV/AIDS. A max of 5 CE hours may be earned from courses without classroom instruction.
*2020 Continuing Education Requirements: According to Emergency Rule 64B12ER20-28, for the biennium ending December 31, 2020, all required hours may be acquired from courses without classroom instruction from July 1, 2020 until September 28, 2020. All other requirements remain the same.

Georgia

Exam: ABO, NCLE and State Practical Exam
License Renwal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 10 hours/2 years
Of the 10 cecs required, a maximum of five (5) cecs may be internet or on-line courses
The Georgia Board does not allow journal (magazine) study for continuing education credit
OTI does not currently offer any Georgia State approved credits

Georgia State Board of Dispensing Opticians
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217
478-207-2440
http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/20

Hawaii

Exam: ABO & NCLE
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: None

Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
Dispensing Optician Program
PO Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801
808-586-2704
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/dispensingoptician

Idaho

No state board or license requirements

Illinois

No state board or license requirements

Indiana

No state board or license requirements

Iowa

No state board or license requirements

Kansas

No state board or license requirements

Kentucky

Continuing education online: No online credits are allowed for state license renewal purposes.
Exam: ABO & NCLE and State Practical Exam
License Renewal Period: Annual
Continuing Education Requirements: 6 hours/year

Kentucky Board of Ophthalmic Dispensers
911 Leawood Drive
Frankfort, KY 40601
502-782-8808

Louisiana

No state board or license requirements

Maine

No state board or license requirements

Maryland

No state board or license requirements

Massachusetts

Exam: ABO and state practical exam, effective 7/1/2007 NCLE
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: Total 12 every 2 years: 6 in spectacles or 5 ABO coursework and 1 in state and federal laws and regulations; 6 hours in contact lenses or 5 NCLE and 1 CPR

Massachusetts Board of Registration for Dispensing Opticians
1000 Washington St., Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118
617-727-3074
http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/do/index.htm

Michigan

No state board or license requirements

Minnesota

No state board or license requirements

Mississippi

No state board or license requirements

Missouri

No state board or license requirements

Montana

No state board or license requirements

Nebraska

No state board or license requirements

Nevada

Exam: ABO & NCLE, and State Exam
License Renewal Period: Annual
Continuing Education Requirements: 12 hours if limited license; 14 hours if dispensing license, 7 in contact lenses

State of Nevada
Board of Dispensing Opticians
4747 Caughlin Parkway
Reno, NV 89519
775-689-0132
http://nvbdo.state.nv.us/

New Hampshire

State Requirement: Registration
Registration Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 8 hours/2 years

Office of Professional Licensure & Certification
121 S. Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301
603-271-9254
http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/blc

New Jersey

Continuing education online: No online credits are allowed for state license renewal purposes.
Exam: State exam
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 12 hours/2 years, 3 must be CL

New Jersey Board of Examiners of Ophthalmic Dispensers and Technicians
PO Box 45011
Newark, NJ 07101
973-504-6435
http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/medical/ophthalmic.htm

New Mexico

No state board or license requirements

New York

All the courses offered on opticaltraining.com are approved by the state of New York for continuing education in opticianry. Learn More

Exam: ABO & NCLE and state practical exam
License Renewal Period: Triennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 18 hours/3 years with 3 hours in CL; if lic for CL 20 hours/3 years with 10 hours in CL.

NY State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Ophthalmic Dispensing Unit
P.O. Box 22063
Albany, NY 12201
Phone: 518-474-3817, ext 250
Fax: 518-402-5354
E-mail: opunit3@mail.nysed.gov

Learn More

North Carolina

Continuing education online: No online credits are allowed for state license renewal purposes.
Exam: State
License Renewal Period: Annually
Continuing Education Requirements: 8 hours per year; 4 spectacle and 4 contact lenses

North Carolina State Board of Opticians
PO Box 6753
Raleigh, NC 27628
919-420-1390
http://www.ncopticiansboard.org/

North Dakota

No state board or license requirements

Ohio

All the courses offered on opticaltraining.com are approved by the state of Ohio for continuing education in opticianry. Learn More

Exam: Passing of NOCE and or NCLE
2 years of apprenticeship of minimum of 2000 hours, or,
2 years formal opticianry program
18 years of age, high school graduate or equivalent
License Renewal Period:
Continuing Education Requirements: Learn More
77 S. High St 16 the Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6108
614-466-9709
http://optical.ohio.gov/

Learn More

Oklahoma

No state board or license requirements

Oregon

No state board or license requirements

Pennsylvania

No state board or license requirements

Rhode Island

Exam: ABO and state practical exam
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 12 hours/2 years
State Dept of Health, Office of Health Professionals Regulation
Advisory Committee of Opticianry
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
http://www.health.ri.gov/applications/optician.pdf

South Carolina

Continuing education online: No online credits are allowed for state license renewal purposes
Exam: Optician, ABO and state practical; Contact Lenses, must already have S.C. optical license and pass NCLE
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 8 hours/2 years and 2 hours in CL if licensed for CL; 2 hours of the 8 may be in practice management
South Carolina Board of Examiners in Opticianry
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
(803) 896-4681
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Opticians/

South Dakota

No state board or license requirements

Tennessee

Continuing education online: No online credits are currently available on this site for state license renewal purposes.

Exam: ABO, NCLE, and State
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements:
Four (4) Spectacles
Two (2) hours Contacts (not to exceed four (4) hours)
Two (2) hours Optional
1 hours of Ethics & Jurisprudence or take exam

Tennessee Board of Dispensing Opticians
665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
615-741-5735

Texas

No state board or license requirements.

Utah

No state board or licensing requirements

Vermont

Exam: ABO
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: 10 hours/2 years; no more than 3 hours in CL, no more than 2 hours home study
Secretary of State, Office of Professional Regulations
Board of Opticians
89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
(802) 828-2191
http://www.sec.state.vt.us/

Virginia

Exam: ABO, NCLE and state practical exam
License Renewal Period: Biennial
Continuing Education Requirements: None

Virginia State Board for Opticians
3600 West Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23230-4917
(804) 367-8590

Washington

Exam: State written and practical exams
License Renewal Period: Annual
Continuing Education Requirements: 30 Hours/3 years; 15 of those hours in CL

Washington Dispensing Opticians Exam Committee
PO Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877
(360) 236-4947
http://www.doh.wa.gov/

West Virginia

No state board or license requirements

Wyoming

No state board or license requirements